Tuesday, September 19, 2006


National Security Whistle Blowers

Sibel is President and Founder of the National Security Whistleblowers Coalition.

From their website:
National Security Whistleblowers Coalition (NSWBC), founded in August 2004, is an independent and nonpartisan alliance of whistleblowers who have come forward to address our nation’s security weaknesses; to inform authorities of security vulnerabilities in our intelligence agencies, at nuclear power plants and weapon facilities, in airports, and at our nation’s borders and ports; to uncover government waste, fraud, abuse, and in some cases criminal conduct.

The NSWBC is dedicated to aiding national security whistleblowers through a variety of methods, including advocacy of governmental and legal reform, educating the public concerning whistleblowing activity, provision of comfort and fellowship to national security whistleblowers suffering retaliation and other harms, and working with other public interest organizations to effect goals defined in the NSWBC mission statement.

The NSWBC membership is exclusively comprised of current or former federal employees or civilians working under contract to the United States who, to their detriment or personal risk, bring to light fraud, waste, and abuse in government operations and agencies when such improprieties compromise the national security of the United States.
You can see their list of members here. Familiar names include Daniel Ellsberg, Karen Kwiatkowski, Larry Johnson, Ray McGovern, Sibel, Russ Tice and Robert Wright.

There are approximately one hundred National Security Whistleblowers in the organization - with an average of approximately 20 years service to America's national security agencies.

Approximately 15 of them were interviewed for Kill The Messenger.

Support whistleblowers if you can. I recently interviewed Sibel about NSWBC's 'Dirty Dozen' - the worst 12 members of Congress. In particular, read Part Two which describes the (purported) legislative & oversight processes - more accurately, it describes the way that committee chairs can block legislation and oversight hearings.

Comments: Post a Comment

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?